So I got one of those obnoxious chain letters today. I got it from a friend, who wrote, “I really liked this one.” So with that recommendation I read it only to learn I had but 6 minutes to read it and pass it on. It was 21 little recommendations for living your life, or Lotus Touts. Nice little simplicities to embrace, like:

  • Believe in love at first sight.
  • Never laugh at anyone’s dreams. People who don’t have dreams don’t have much.
  • Love deeply and passionately. You might get hurt but it’s the only way to live life completely.

Good stuff, right? But then I got to the end. And that really, well, pissed me off. There was the usual, send this x number of people and the more you send the better the things that will happen. And then it threatens me! “The Lotus Touts must leave your hands in 6 MINUTES. Otherwise you will get a very unpleasant surprise. This is true, even if you are not superstitious, agnostic, or otherwise faith impaired.”

The words “fuck you” form in my head but apparently my better judgment and faith are a risk here, so I send it. And I thought to myself, how many times has that little decision let me down. And began to replay every match.com date I knew I shouldn’t have gone on. Every time I slept with the guy and was disappointed on so many levels. All men I stayed with too long. Judgment and faith are scary things. So why do we (okay, maybe me) let other people use that against us? I mean this was a chain email? How pathetic am I?

I realized that even the thought of something good happening was enough to take the risk. Despite the risk involved. And how great is that? Because without it would we ever date again? Would we take a chance on the next guy. We would get on match.com at all? And God knows, we’d all be in the missionary position ad finitum without a little lack of judgment and a lot of faith. So I began to embrace my decision to send it to 16 people because I really needed my life to improve drastically and everything I ever dreamed of to begin to take shape. Okay, can’t hurt, right?

Then I got the email from best friend, J:“If you ever send me another chain mail that says something bad will happen to me, I will make sure something bad happens to you.”

And I remembered, that deleting the bad bits and moving it forward is definitely a good thing.

